IND A vs PAK A Catch Controversy: Crucial decision that left India fuming, what exactly happened?

IND A vs PAK A Catch Controversy: The Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 clash between India A and Pakistan A turned tense mid-way through the 10th over, all thanks to a controversial catch involving Maaz Sadaqat.

Suyash Sharma’s opening delivery was skied into the deep by Sadaqat, and Nehal Wadhera seemed to take a clean catch near the boundary. However, as Wadhera threw the ball back into play while going over the rope, Naman Dhir completed the catch.

What happened during the match?

After a brief delay of around five minutes, the third umpire ruled it ‘Not Out’, leaving the Indian team visibly frustrated. Prolonged discussions between the players and match officials followed, with everyone trying to make sense of the decision.

 

 

What MCC rules say?

The ruling stems from the recently updated Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) guidelines, which clarify how fielders can interact with the ball near the boundary. Under the new rule, any fielder who has gone beyond the boundary must land inside the field of play to complete a valid catch. Relay catches are also impacted, if a ball touched by a fielder outside the rope is not grounded back inside, the delivery is ruled a boundary.

In this instance, Wadhera didn’t return inside the field after going over the boundary, and though Dhir completed the catch, the ball was deemed a dot ball. While the rule aims to prevent confusion around boundary catches, its application in real-time can still spark debates, as seen in this match.

The new MCC guidelines will certainly keep fielders and fans on their toes in the Rising Stars tournament, with every boundary-side catch now under the microscope.

Leave a Comment