Virender Sehwag inducted into ICC’s Hall of Fame along with Aravinda de Silva and Diana Edulji

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has inducted former India opener Virender Sehwag into the Hall of Fame alongside Sri Lanka’s World Cup winning hero Aravinda de Silva and former India captain Diana Edulji.


Sehwag became the eighth Indian men’s cricketer to be inducted into the Hall of Fame by the ICC. He follows in the footsteps of Sunil Gavaskar, Bishan Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Vinoo Mankad to be inducted in the Hall of Fame.

Sehwag, one of the most feared and ferocious batters in contemporary cricket, scored a whopping 23 Test centuries, the fifth-most by an Indian batter. His knock of 319 runs against South Africa at Chennai in 2008 remains unparalleled, holding the record for the highest score by an Indian player.



However, Sehwag’s formidable talent wasn’t limited to the red-ball arena. Equally deft with the white-ball, his record in ODIs is outstanding. Over the course of his career, he amassed 8,273 runs for India in 50-over cricket, with his score of 219 against the West Indies at Indore in 2011 still holding strong as the third-highest by any male player in ODIs.

Aside from the personal accolades, Sehwag also played a crucial role in the success of the national team. His consistent performance was a key propellant in India securing their second ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup title in 2011. His contribution of 380 runs was the seventh-best across all players in that tournament.

Sehwag thanked the ICC for inducting him into the Hall of Fame, adding that he feels grateful for spending a great part of his life hitting the cricket ball.

“I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for inducting me with this honour. I feel extremely grateful for having spent a great part of my life doing what I loved most, ‘hitting the cricket ball’. I would also like to thank my family, friends, people I played with, and countless people who prayed for me selflessly,” said Sehwag.

Meanwhile, Edulji scripted history by becoming the first Indian women’s player to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. Edulji picked 109 wickets in 54 matches for India across formats and was a trailblazer for India’s women’s cricketers for many decades.

Legendary Sri Lanka batter Aravinda de Silva became the fourth Sri Lankan to be inducted in the Hall of Fame after Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.

De Silva scored a century in the 1996 World Cup final to guide Sri Lanka to their maiden title. He amassed 6,361 runs in 93 Tests at an average of 42.97 while also picking 29 wickets. In ODIs, he scored 9,284 runs in 308 matches averaging 34.90, while also claiming 106 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *