By receiving the honor that Virender Sehwag received from ICC, this legendary Indian female cricketer created history.

ICC, the supreme body of cricket, has honored Virender Sehwag. Not only him, two other cricketers along with him have also been considered worthy of that honor and have also been awarded it. One of those two is India’s legendary female cricketer Diana Edulji. ICC has included both Virender Sehwag and Diana Edulji in its Hall of Fame. Apart from these, the third cricketer to be included in the ICC Hall of Fame is former Sri Lankan batsman Arvind de Silva.

Let us tell you that these three have received this honor from ICC due to their excellent achievements in their career. In these, Sehwag played cricket for India for 14 years, in which he played 374 matches and scored more than 17000 runs. Aravinda de Silva also played 401 matches for Sri Lanka in 19 years and scored more than 15,000 runs in them. Edulji has been the captain of the Indian women’s team and later also became a cricket administrator.

Know: What is the weakness of Team India even after winning 9 matches?

This happened for the first time in 2023

Actually, the inclusion of all three in the ICC Hall of Fame together is like creating history because this year it is the first time that all the players inducted into the Hall of Fame are Asian. But, among the three, this success is the biggest for Diana Edulji. Now you would like to know the reason behind this. So let us tell you that also.

Sehwag is India’s 8th men’s cricketer

Talking about men’s cricketers, Virender Sehwag is the 8th player from India to be included in the ICC Hall of Fame. Before him, Bishan Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Vinoo Mankad have got it.

De Silva is Sri Lanka’s fourth men’s cricketer

Similarly, Arvind de Silva is the fourth person to become a part of ICC Hall of Fame from Sri Lankan cricket. Before him, Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara have received this honour.

Diana Edulji has created history

Now know how Diana Edulji’s selection is historic. In fact, she is not only the first woman from India to be included in the ICC Hall of Fame, apart from this, she is also the only second woman cricketer who is not from Australia and England to receive this honour. Before Diana, New Zealand’s Debbie Hockley had become the first female cricketer to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

Read here: What happened to Babar Azam when he reached Pakistan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *